What's Your Job?

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item What's Your Job?

• Excellent idea, Steve! I love to help anyone who is seeking a new position/career move. So, I'll give you some of my details.

I work in state government, in the southwestern US. I work in one of the largest state departments in my state. Last I knew we had about 200 people in IT (both operations and software development). My title is Application Developer 3, although I prefer the term Senior Software Engineer. Yep, I'm a developer. Please don't hold that against me. 😉  I'll give what I've been working on and a little of what the IT department has been working on.

I've been working on an ASP.NET Core .NET 6 web app to handle some complicated transactions for the state pharmacy. This involves using a third-party tool from Telerik for jQuery.

When working with databases we tend to design a database first, rather than use Entity Framework's Code First approach. This approach is different than many software developers' approach. However, it's easy to scaffold an existing database into model classes and the DbContext class using EF Core. For some reason, the DBAs are not involved in designing new databases. I presume they spend time tuning the database, after we design them.

State government is notorious for being extremely conservative, in software engineering approaches, adopting modern technologies, etc. We have been very slow to adopt putting anything into the Cloud. At the beginning of the Pandemic there was a big rush to get some new apps into Azure, but those stalled and failed. I'm not entirely sure why, as I think it either had something to do with network issues or security/firewall. Both of these are outside my wheelhouse. However, I think we'd be better off today if that had succeeded. We are now in a huge attempt to catch up by moving some of our apps into the Cloud.