Using Update to change field values

• Hi,

I'm a newbie when it comes to SQL and new to this forum.  So, this is probably a simple syntax error or oversite on my part.  I am trying to write a query to change the value of a field for every record in a table.  Again, I'm new, so I got the code from a SQL book I've been reading. 

Update CARD_Attached_Acct

Set Institution_Number = 5

I'm running this in Query Analyzer.  I'm attached to the correct database and when I "parse" the command it completes successfully.  However, when I run it, I get this error:

Server: Msg 207, Level 16, State 1, Line 1

Invalid column name 'Institution_Number'.

I've checked and rechecked the table and the column is there and the spelling is correct.  I've tried a few variations (ie. prefixing the table name / dbo / both to the table name and the column name, but to no avail.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerley,

Bryan Zimmerman

bryan.zimmerman@fiserv.com

• You probably have done this, but the table name is correct as well? 

(Also, you are aware that  without a WHERE clause, you will be updating all records...) 

I wasn't born stupid - I had to study.

• Thanks for your reply.

Yes, I've checked the table name and I want to change every record.  In my original post, I was not as clear as I should have been.  Actually, I'm trying to do this for 200+ tables and eventually would like to set it up for multiple databases.  When I try running the two lines by themselves, I get a completely different error:

Server: Msg 547, Level 16, State 1, Line 1

UPDATE statement conflicted with TABLE FOREIGN KEY constraint 'CARD_Acct_CIS_Attach_Accts_KEY'. The conflict occurred in database 'IA05Daily', table 'CIS_Attached_Accts'.

The statement has been terminated.

So, now I have two problems.  Again, any help is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

bz

• Well kind of..., but really it is still one problem. 

You will probably get better replies than I will give you, but here's a start.