Using package configurations in tandem with Data Sources/Views?

• Hi,

I am relatively new to SSIS, so I am a little confused about what some of the "best practices" might be.  I am trying to simplify the configuration of my packages and make it seamless to move from environment to environment.

I have multiple SSIS 2005 packages that pull data from the same data sources (SQL Server catalogs).  In order to consolidate the configuration settings, I created a Data Source (& Data Source View) for each catalog from which I am pulling data.  In my packages, I created configuration managers that point to my data sources ("New Configuration Manager From Data Source").

The connection manager appears to make a copy of the settings (connection string, etc) from my Data Source.  This seems to mean that if I redirect one of my Data Sources to point to a catalog on a different server (moving from test to production environment, for example), the package won't pick up the change unless I re-open (and consequently re-deploy) the package in BIDS.  I also want to avoid having to edit the Data Sources using BIDS each time I develop/deploy in a different environment.  I looked at the Data Source file, and it seems like a relatively straightforward XML file, but I can't have environment-specific Data Sources without changing each package to point to different Data Sources every time I change environments.

Ideally, the configuration would look something like this:  Package (points to) Data Source (pulls connection information from) Environment-specific XML config file (one for each environment).  Only the XML config file would ever have to change.