User Accounts

• I have a question regarding user accounts. At present I have two databases set up in SQL Server 2000 SP3a which are accessed by two ASP websites.

I have set up a user called 'webuser' to access the database. The databases are called DB1 and DB2. The webuser has a default database of DB1.

The asp website's connection strings uses the 'webuser' login to log in.

I changed the password for the 'webuser' account in SQL Server yesterday and accidentily accessed the website that used the DB2 database and it gave me access! Horrified, I accessed teh DB1 website and I was rightfully denied access.

Why did the DB2 database allow me to access the database still?

Note that there are three users available on each of the databases: dbo, guest and webuser.

Incidentally, should I remove the guest user?

Forgive my ignorance, but I'm just learning!

• AFAIK that should definitely not happen - especially between two databases on the same server.  I use a similar user for my web apps to access their databases and this has never happened.  Have you got the latest service pack installed?

I think however this is more likely to be a browser issue - could it be simply that your browser is not checking for newer versions of stored pages?  In Internet Explorer, do Tools > Internet Options... then under Temporary Internet Files on the first (General) tab click the Settings... button and under "Check for newer versions of stored pages:" make sure "Every visit to the page" is selected.

If it is not then I would bet anything this is the cause; select it (this should always be selected for data-centric web applications).  This one's caught me out on a ridiculous number of occasions.