Triggers and INSERTED

• I have a trigger on a master table that I want to conditionally update a single field of all child rows in the child table. But when it runs, it returns an error...

Subquery returned more than one vaule.  This is not permitted when a subquery follows =, !=, <, <=, >, >=, or is used as an expression.  The statement has been terminated.

The trigger:

ALTER TRIGGER dbo.rb_CascadePendingFlag
    ON dbo.RateBook
    FOR UPDATE
    AS
    DECLARE @p AS BIT
    DECLARE @rbID as udt_RateBookID
    /*
    *Cascade an update of IsPending = 0 down to rate sheets. Ratesheet table
    *should only cascade an update of IsPending = 1 up to Ratebook to avoid
    *a circular cascade
    */

IF UPDATE(IsPending)
    BEGIN
    SET @p = (SELECT IsPending FROM INSERTED)
    SET @rbID = (SELECT RateBookID FROM INSERTED)

IF @p = 0
    BEGIN
    UPDATE Ratesheet
    SET IsPending = 0
    WHERE
    FK_RateBookID = @rbID

--FK_RateBookID IN (SELECT RateBookID FROM inserted)
    END
    END

Using creative commenting, I've determined that the offending line is

SET @rbID = (SELECT RateBookID FROM INSERTED)

Also, when I uncomment the same line in the WHERE clause, it returns the same error. So, my question is, when are there multiple records in inserted for a unique record when it's getting updated?

Note that I get this error when I change the value of the IsPending field for a single record in a grid. I have also tried limiting the SELECT by using TOP 1, to no avail.

Thx.

-------

at us, very deafly, a most stares

collosal hoax of clocks and calendars

eecummings

-------

eecummings

• This error happens when more than one record is in the Inserted table. This can easily happen on an Update trigger.

For example, consider the statement:

Update MyTable Set MyField = 1

If you had an Update trigger on MyTable, the inserted table would have one row for each row in MyTable.