Triger Help

• I'm new to triggers, so bare with me.

I have a Customer Table that I want to create a trigger for. This trigger will check to see if a row was updated, and if it was, I want it to copy the row that was changed to an AuditCustomer table. we will use this later for a SQL report.

Whats the best way to do this?

• Bare with you?

Ryan Randall

Solutions are easy. Understanding the problem, now, that's the hard part.

• Here are some links which might help...

http://www.nigelrivett.net/SQLTriggers/AuditTrailTrigger.html

http://www.nigelrivett.net/SQLTriggers/Triggers_2_Creating_Audit_Trails.html

Ryan Randall

Solutions are easy. Understanding the problem, now, that's the hard part.

• If I edit it will you answer my question?

• Here are some articles with data on how to create such triggers, and other options you have on the subject:

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Auditing/63247/

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Auditing/63248/

- Gus "GSquared", RSVP, OODA, MAP, NMVP, FAQ, SAT, SQL, DNA, RNA, UOI, IOU, AM, PM, AD, BC, BCE, USA, UN, CF, ROFL, LOL, ETC
    Property of The Thread

"Nobody knows the age of the human race, but everyone agrees it's old enough to know better." - Anon

• You simply need to create the UPDATE trigger on Customer table which includes Insert statment for AuditCustomer, Inserts the record from inserted / deleted table ( inbuild table in database triggers )

It depends how you want to maintain the audit like for OLD-NEW or only OLD record.

• [font="Verdana"]

Abhijit (7/16/2008)

You simply need to create the UPDATE trigger on Customer table which includes Insert statment for AuditCustomer, Inserts the record from inserted / deleted table ( inbuild table in database triggers )

It depends how you want to maintain the audit like for OLD-NEW or only OLD record.

Also need to add IF UPDATE condition before insert statement as Brad needs Trigger to be fired in case of UPDATE.

Mahesh[/font]

MH-09-AM-8694