Transactions and error handling in stored procedures

• Hi,

I recently started learning about transactions and error handing in stored procedures. I created a stored procedure (which is shown on the bottom) and tried to create a case where it would fail to see that a rollback really happens, but it does not seem to work. What am I missing? Will rollback happen in specific cases only?

I tried two different scenarios:

1. For the 2nd statement, insert into non-existant table [i.e. insert into ClientPreferences2]

2. Start running a stored procedure and stop it in the middle of execution

In both cases, no rollback seems to have happened. In case 1, data got deleted by 1st query and then sp failed with message that table does not exist. Why no rollback?

In case 2 sp always seems to finish with all the changes made and committed:

CREATE PROCEDURE TEST(@ClientName VARCHAR(255), @PublicationIDList VARCHAR(8000))

AS

BEGIN

SET NOCOUNT ON

DECLARE @er INT

BEGIN TRANSACTION

DELETE FROM ClientPreferences

WHERE ClientName = @ClientName

SELECT @er = @@ERROR

IF @er <> 0 GOTO ERROR_EXIT

INSERT INTO ClientPreferences(ClientName, ID, IDType, Include)

SELECT @ClientName, ID, 'Publication', 1

FROM fnsplitter(@PublicationIDList)

SELECT @er = @@ERROR

IF @er <> 0 GOTO ERROR_EXIT

COMMIT TRANSACTION

RETURN 1

ERROR_EXIT:

ROLLBACK TRANSACTION

RETURN 0

END

GO

If I understand correctly both of the cases I tried are fatal cases. Can someone suggest which test case will show me whether the code is working properly or not?

Thank you!

• @@Error doesn't catch unsexistent objects or missing permissions, all those kind of things tipically happening outside any query. It only catches error inside the queries, as let say, datatype overflow or casting errors. You must take care of unexisting objects explicitly.