Training for those new to SQL

• Howdy folks,

Well, I seem to have had a very nice stroke of good luck as I have been offered a position with a small company as their lone IT person. Namely they need me to take their current system of quoting and invoicing and create a DB application. The only downside is I have zero experience as an IT person, much less a DBA. I'm not without any credentials, I have created virtually all the spreadsheet apps they use now for their quoting system, and I'm probably on par with most desktop support folks. The only new things I will be jumping into is the Windows Server environment, and of course SQL Server.

I've gotten my hands on the full feature evaluation copy of SQL 2008 and also Visual Studio 2008. And have been making my way through a T-SQL book. I haven't really touched VS yet, just been working on learning the basics of SQL.

My question is how would you guys suggest I go about getting trained for this job? The company is paying for training, but they would like to keep the costs reasonable so I don't quite have an open checkbook. I've read through a couple dozen articles on this site as well as a few others for ideas, but more info may be helpful.

So far I've come up with taking a Network class as well as a class on Server03 to learn a little about network environments, Active Directory, etc. After that I'm not entirely sure of how to plot my class course. SQL Server training next? Courses on database theory/design? I am a little concerned about learning how to design a database, there doesn't seem to be many classes for that.

The first system I create will be small and not do much more than generate some quotes and keep a log of all quotes. Later the system will need to grow to store data of all transactions (quotes and sales), invoicing, customer information, and even a full financial package (AP/AR, etc). Thats years down the road, but I need to have a good foundation from the beginning.