TempDB always auto-grow on restart

• Hey there,

I'm basically a developer with a strong SQL skill (by SQL skill I mean more T-SQL rather than DBA skill). Our clients have been struck with Timeout Expirations for a while, and I've now got the time to look into the matter.

There are several stored proc generating the Timeouts, and I've been looking at one in particular. It generates a calendar in a temporary table, thus filling TempDB with about 40 MB of data, depending on the database. The stored proc runs in about 43 seconds the first time after a server reboot, and any other attempt afterwards resolves in about 5 or 6 seconds, even with DBCC FREEPROCCACHE, DBCC DROPCLEANBUFFER and such. After a while, I traced it back to TempDB being expanded on the first execution.

To solve this problem, I went ahead and changed the initial TempDB size from 2 MB to 60 MB, hoping it wouldn't have to auto-grow. Much to my surprise, when I restarted my server once more and went to test it, TempDB auto-grew to about 100 MB, even though there was already 60 MB of free space. That got me scratching my head...

After looking on the web and finding no solution to this problem (probably because I'm not searching with the right words), I turn to you. Is it a common problem that any DBA fixes day in day out?

For what it's worth, the server's default collation is French_CI_AS (and so is TempDB's), but the database's collation is Latin1_General_CI_AI. I don't know if it makes any difference.

• G'day Jonathon,

It sounds like you've expanded the tempdb data file(s) but not the log file(s).