SQL Server 2000 Restore DB to new server and logins lost their user mappings and role assignments

• First in my defense I am a database developer, I usually hack TSQL, never claimed to be much of a production style DBA but sometimes you gotta do it yourself to get it done.

I needed to move a database from one server to another, both were SQL Server 2000 SP4 running on Windows Server 2003 SP2. I generated a script of the database I needed to move and ran it on the new server creating the empty database for me to restore to. I then took a complete backup of the database I needed to move. When I restored the the database, the users were assigned to database but were not mapped to their logins or their roles. I tried this a few times with the same result. Both through the GUI and through TSQL scripts. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Once I figure this out there are 60 more to move, so you can see why I need to do this during the restore or with a script after, reassigning by hand is not a viable option for that volume of DB's.

Thanks All.

DumbDBA

• Bob,

your problem is that while the users are stored inside the database and part of the backup, the logins are stored in the master database and thus not included win the backup.

Two things you need to do:

1. Create the logins needed on the new server. Either create scripts or use the Transfer Logins task in DTS.

2. After restoring the database you need to fix all user with a SQLLogin by running sp_change_users_login. If you do a search on this site you should find several scripts for this task.

Hope this helps

Markus

[font="Verdana"]Markus Bohse[/font]

• Hi,

In this link you'll find transfer logins script provided by Microsoft http://support.microsoft.com/kb/246133

Regards,

Ahmed