SQL Career Advice Needed

• I have 3 years of VBA/Access experience. I am looking to take a step up professionally and pursue a job opportunity using SQL Server in the hope of someday becoming a DBA. I decided to begin my endeavor (2 months ago)by preparing for 70-228 and 70-229, passing both. Currently, I have imported an Access DB I use at work into SQL Server to practice with. I'm am trying to give myself "hands on" experience. I will also be assisting my Net. Admin. at work with an NT to 2000 upgrade and setting up a Win 2000 server from scratch in the next month. I don't really see any JR. SQL admin positions posted anymore, and hope to sneak in somewhere as a Report Writer (Crystal) or as a mid-level VB programmer. Am I realistic. Should I try to finish up the MCDBA. Would any of you DBA's give me a job if I applied at your place (hypothetically)? I would like to know what seasoned professionals feel I could do to increase my odds of success in my endeavor of becoming a bona fide DBA.

Edited by - frankbuzz on 12/05/2002 5:01:14 PM

Edited by - frankbuzz on 12/05/2002 5:03:09 PM