Sql 2000 production server SP4 not installed

• Hello -

I recently discovered our 2000 production server never had any service packs installed!  (Don't look at me; I'm only a programmer, not the one that set this up . . .)  

There is only one database being accessed by an application on this server.  That database is scheduled for upgrade to Sql Server 2005 within the next few months.  Currently, everything is going along nicely -- hate to mess with it if I don't have to -- would rather wait and just upgrade to 2005.

I have read that SP4 takes care of problems associated with the upcoming time change.  What can I expect to happen if I don't install SP4?

Any advice/suggestions?

• time changes are at the operating system level..there is a registry patch for the operating system to change the daylight savings time on the new date available from microsoft...

sql server gets the time from the operating system, and SP4 came out long before the determination was made to change the Daylight savings time on a different date than historically done...

unpatched servers are vulnerable to a number of attacks. you may have heard of the SQl Slammer worm?..regardless of the planned upgrade , patch the server now.

Lowell

--help us help you! If you post a question, make sure you include a CREATE TABLE... statement and INSERT INTO... statement into that table to give the volunteers here representative data. with your description of the problem, we can provide a tested, verifiable solution to your question! asking the question the right way gets you a tested answer the fastest way possible!

• Hi Lowell -

How long does it take to patch 2000 with SP4?  I need to figure out how long the server needs to be down.  I just installed the service pack for Sql Server 2005 on my developer machine.  It took forever! 

Any frequently encountered problems that you know of with SP4 and Sql 2000?