Select statements included within a function cannot return data to a client

• Hi

I'm new to SS. The function below fails to compile, and returns the following error message:

Msg 444, Level 16, State 2, Procedure WKLY_SMA, Line 55

Select statements included within a function cannot return data to a client.

Issue lies with the FETCH RELATIVE -1 line. If I comment out the FETCH RELATIVE -1 line this compiles.

USE [NB_TRD_SYS]

GO

SET ANSI_NULLS ON

GO

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON

GO

CREATE FUNCTION [dbo].[WKLY_SMA]

(

-- Add the parameters for the function here

@TimeKey int,

@Commodity nvarchar(3),

@Period int

)

RETURNS int

AS

BEGIN

DECLARE @SMA FLOAT -- return variable

DECLARE @MA FLOAT

DECLARE @n INT

DECLARE @C_TKey int

DECLARE @C_CS nvarchar(3)

DECLARE @C_CLS FLOAT

DECLARE @C_First_TKey int

DECLARE @C_First_CS nvarchar(3)

DECLARE @C_First_CLS FLOAT

DECLARE SMA_CURSOR CURSOR SCROLL STATIC FOR -- Tried different types of cursors as the issue is with FETCH RELATIVE...

SELECT

TIME_KEY,

COMM_SYMB,

CLS

FROM dbo.fct_WKLY

WHERE

COMM_SYMB = @Commodity

AND

TIME_KEY <= @TimeKey

OPEN SMA_CURSOR

FETCH FIRST FROM SMA_CURSOR INTO @C_First_TKey, @C_First_CS, @C_First_CLS

FETCH LAST FROM SMA_CURSOR INTO @C_TKey, @C_CS, @C_CLS -- How do I know that my cursor has remained here?

SET @n = 0

SET @MA = 0

SET @SMA = 0

WHILE @n < @Period BEGIN

IF (@C_First_TKey = @C_TKey AND @C_First_CS = @C_CS)

RETURN @SMA

ELSE BEGIN

SET @MA = @MA + @C_CLS

SET @n = @n + 1

FETCH RELATIVE -1 FROM SMA_CURSOR -- Hopefully this is fetching the previous from the LAST.

END

END

SET @SMA = @MA / @Period

CLOSE SMA_CURSOR

DEALLOCATE SMA_CURSOR

-- Return the result of the function

RETURN @SMA

END

GO

Thanks in advance,

Wayne

• Can you also post the table structure with sample data and the error you're getting.

This site should help you in posting the required solution.

www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Best+Practices/61537/

Pradeep Singh

• Hello,