Searching in date field provides inconsistent results

• I have been working with SQL Server for too many years to count and this is baffling; perhaps someone has a clue on the cause.  I am running this on SQL Server 2022.  I put together a simple function to return a primary key integer for a lookup table that has mileage rates that are active within a date time span for a vehicle type.  When I execute that function it is returning inconsistent results and I have narrowed it down to the date time span.  Below are the table and function with the final question:

Table (Note: The ValidFrom and ValidUntil are used to create the time span for changing mileage effective rates.  The most current mileage rates for each vehicle type has a NULL datetime in the ValidUntil column.)

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[MileageRate](
    [RateId] [INT] IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL,
    [VehicleType] [NVARCHAR](50) NOT NULL,
    [Abbreviation] [NVARCHAR](2) NOT NULL,
    [ValidFrom] [DATETIME2](7) NOT NULL,
    [ValidUntil] [DATETIME2](7) NULL
    CONSTRAINT [PK_MileageRate_RateId] PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED
    (
    [RateId] ASC
    )WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON, OPTIMIZE_FOR_SEQUENTIAL_KEY = OFF) ON [PRIMARY]
    ) ON [PRIMARY]
    GO

Function providing inconsistent results where sometime it was coming back as RateId = zero and sometimes the RateId was the correct value.

CREATE FUNCTION [dbo].[fn_GetRateId]( 
    @vehicleType VARCHAR(50)
    )
    RETURNS INTEGER
    AS
    /*
    --Testing code executions
    SELECT dbo.fn_GetRateId('pv');
    SELECT dbo.fn_GetRateId('personal');
    SELECT dbo.fn_GetRateId('mp');
    SELECT dbo.fn_GetRateId('motor pool');
    SELECT dbo.fn_GetRateId('gv');
    SELECT dbo.fn_GetRateId('government');

*/BEGIN
    DECLARE @rateId INTEGER = 0;
    --Set comparisonDate as consistent value
    DECLARE @compareDate DATETIME = GETDATE();
    --Clean input