Retrieve specific number of records from a table

• Hi,

I am a newbie to SQL programming. I am trying to retrieve specific number of records for a table. For example, I want to retrieve records starting from the 50th to 110.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance,

Vijju2k

• Here is an example of a way you can retrieve 10-15 without a cursor using the top and order by clauses.

Create table top_test (id int identity, description char(1))

insert into top_test values('a')

insert into top_test values('b')

insert into top_test values('c')

insert into top_test values('d')

insert into top_test values('e')

insert into top_test values('f')

insert into top_test values('g')

insert into top_test values('h')

insert into top_test values('i')

insert into top_test values('j')

insert into top_test values('k')

insert into top_test values('l')

insert into top_test values('m')

insert into top_test values('n')

insert into top_test values('o')

insert into top_test values('p')

insert into top_test values('q')

insert into top_test values('r')

insert into top_test values('s')

select * from (select top 6 * from (select top 15 * from top_test

order by id asc) a

order by id desc) b

order by id asc

drop table top_test

Gregory Larsen, DBA

If you looking for SQL Server Examples check out my website at http://www.geocities.com/sqlserverexamples

Gregory A. Larsen, MVP

• To find a proper solution you need to consider how you data set is represented. If the data has a specific order based on unique values Greg's method will work or something like this may be better.

SELECT * FROM tblMain oq WHERE (SELECT COUNT(*) + 1 FROM tblMain iq WHERE iq.UNICOL < oq.UNICOL) BETWEEN 50 AND 110

If however you don't want to upset the current order and the order is not logical on any column or the column involved is not unique then consider this.