Reorg indexes on a replicated DB(transactional)

• Greetings,

I have a server that is replicating four databases using transactional replication and I have a task on the publisher that reorgs the indexes on the published database. I haven't used replication much so I'm no expert. One of the databases on the publisher is also log shipped and when the reorg job runs it creates rather large trn log backups that take time to copy up to the DR site and be applied so that seems to indicate that the reorg is a transactional process (emphasis on it seems). My questions is, does the index reorg task work get replicated to the subscribers? I did a test using a model of the environment but in the monitor I didn't see anything come over for an index reorg or a dbcc check db command.

What I'm doing on the publisher is a 3 step job. First it runs check db then index reorg (only on indexes that meet criteria) and then updates stats. So, should I avoid running this job on the subscriber entirely or are these types of task not replicated and I should run them? If I should run them on the subscriber what concerns should I have?

Cheers

• jfogel (1/10/2013)

Greetings,

I have a server that is replicating four databases using transactional replication and I have a task on the publisher that reorgs the indexes on the published database. I haven't used replication much so I'm no expert. One of the databases on the publisher is also log shipped and when the reorg job runs it creates rather large trn log backups that take time to copy up to the DR site and be applied so that seems to indicate that the reorg is a transactional process (emphasis on it seems).

The index maintenance is logged to the transaction log so that is why you are seeing that increase in the size of the shipped transaction logs. There is no real way around that.