Really basic question about the Select statement in T-SQL

• I'm a newbie at writing T-SQL (2005), having been a C# programmer for 5 years. I keep getting confused on the same point. I work alone and have no one to turn to for help.

My confusion is this: I am accustomed to (as a programmer) to getting a set of records returned from a select statement in my C# data tier code. However I have a suspicion that in a while loop executing in a stored procedure in T-SQL I do not get a set or records, but rather a single row. So that confuses me.

Secondly, what about the same situation as I describe above, but the select statement also contains an order by clause. How would that affect, if at all, what gets returned to me.

Anyone help a newcomer? Thanks.

Victor Victor

• You'd have to post the code to get help on the WHILE loop. In general, any execution that includes a SELECT or PRINT will return something to the client. Other code just runs on the server. The SELECT or PRINT must be its own statement.

So

while exists (select * from mytable)

begin

set rowcount 1

delete MyTable

set rowcount 0

end

doesn't return anything. But this does.

while @i < 10

begin

select @i

set @i = @i + 1

end

Assuming @i starts at less than 10.

Rows have no ordering in SQL Server. You cannot assume if I insert in order (1, 2, 4) in a column that they will get returned in that order. Indexing can affect things, but the point is there is no guaranteed order unless you use an ORDER BY clause.

However that causes sorting to occur and uses resources, so you shouldn't use it unless you really need it.

• Steve: Thank you so much for responding. I had hoped to avoid posting a lot of code but I can see I did not fully present the complete confusion.

I do understand both while loops that you presented.