Question on SQL Server 2000 - 2005

• I am a DB2 DBA that has been asked to become familiar enough with SQL Server in order to become actively involved in its installation, implementation, and to review database backup/recovery procedures. SQL Server will be used by a vendor packaged application.

The problem is that we are awaiting word on whether it will be SQL Server 2000 or 2005 we will be working with. I have been told that there are considerable differences between the two versions.

There is an upcoming local 5 day class on Administering SQL Server 2000 that I would like to take. (outline below)

Question is, are the differences between the two versions so drastic as to render this class less than useful, especially in terms of installation and basic db maintenance functions?

Many thanks in advance.

Gerry

Course Outline: 2072 Administering a Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Database

Lesson 1: SQL Server Overview

What Is SQL Server

SQL Server Integration

SQL Server Databases

SQL Server Security

Working with SQL Server

Lesson 2: Planning to Install SQL Server

Hardware Installation Considerations

SQL Server 2000 Editions

Software Installation Considerations

Methods of Installing SQL Server

Verifying the Installation

Configuring SQL Server Enterprise Manager

Troubleshooting

Lesson 3: Managing Database Files

Introduction to Data Structures

Creating Databases

Managing Databases

Placing Database Files and Logs

Optimizing the Database Using Hardware-based RAID

Optimizing the Database Using Filegroups

Optimizing the Database Using Filegroups with Hardware-based RAID

Capacity Planning

Performance Considerations

Lesson 4: Managing Security

Implementing an Authentication Mode

Assigning Logins to Users and Roles

Assigning Permissions to Users and Roles

Managing Security Within SQL Server

Managing Application Security

Managing SQL Server Security in the Enterprise

Lesson 5: Performing Administrative Tasks

Configuration Tasks