Query Analyer does not work

• How can I get my Query Analyzer to work on NT ?

• What kind of error messages are you experiencing? Have you tried reloading the client software?

Guarddata-

• Are you having any specific problems after you select your database go to tools and double click SQL Query Analyzer

Mike

• When I click on the Query Analyzer, nothing happens.

I am new to SQL server 7 and would like to move the databases off one drive to another.

I wanted to move the user databases from one drive to another using the detach and attach procedures via Query Analyzer. Is there an alternative method ?

Sql server was upgraded to version 7 a few years ago by person unknown and noone seems to have the software etc.

Is there somewhere where I can download just the Query Analyzer portion as the Enterprise Manager works fine and is it safe to reinstall this part without affecting anything else ?

• VGillingham

1) If you have the ability to reinstall Enterprise Manager, Query Analyzer should be part of that.

2) You can detach and reattach via Enterprise Manager

3) I have also been in an environment where someone walked away with the software. We just bought another copy. Yes - that was painful, but we didn't worry about being in a license violation.

Good Luck - doesn't sound fun.

Guarddata-

• Do you have detailed info on this process -

detach and reattach via Enterprise Manager and can I use this same process to move all of the sql server 7 databases ?

• I'm running the SQL2000 version, but believe it is the same in this instance.

Right-click on the database. Under the "All Tasks" option there should be a detach database option.

Once the database has been moved to the other operating system location, right-click on the "databases" folder. The "attach database" option is under the "All Tasks" submenu.

May fortune smile upon your efforts.

Guarddata-