Queries Do not work if a table name starts with a number

• Hello all

I am still rather new at this and i am trying to write a query on some tables that start with a number. However, i get an incorrect syntax when writing a query against a table that starts with a number. This was my first web application and i didnt know any better i guess, but is there anyway besides renaming all 500 tables with a letter before the number?

for example if i rename the table from 11rsadmin to a11rsadmin the query is successful.

can i set some sort of variable or something at the top of my query to let the query analyzer know that my tables start with an integer and not a character?

Thank You

• Select * From [1invalidtablename]

• Table names shouldn't start with a number. They fall into the category of identifiers which , per Books Online, must conform to the following:

The rules for the format of regular identifiers depend on the database compatibility level. This level can be set by using sp_dbcmptlevel. When the compatibility level is 90, the following rules apply:

The first character must be one of the following:

A letter as defined by the Unicode Standard 3.2. The Unicode definition of letters includes Latin characters from a through z, from A through Z, and also letter characters from other languages.

The underscore (_), at sign (@), or number sign (#).

Certain symbols at the beginning of an identifier have special meaning in SQL Server. A regular identifier that starts with the at sign always denotes a local variable or parameter and cannot be used as the name of any other type of object. An identifier that starts with a number sign denotes a temporary table or procedure. An identifier that starts with double number signs (##) denotes a global temporary object. Although the number sign or double number sign characters can be used to begin the names of other types of objects, we do not recommend this practice.