practical RBAR removal: convert integers to binary

• I'm new to using the tally table, and I'm sitting here dumbfounded trying to come up with a way (using a tally table) to convert integers to their binary representation.

Does anyone have an example of this so I can learn how it's done?

It will help me solve a couple of problems I've not solved using a tally table yet.

~SQLBOT

• SQLBOT (9/15/2009)

I'm new to using the tally table, and I'm sitting here dumbfounded trying to come up with a way (using a tally table) to convert integers to their binary representation.

Does anyone have an example of this so I can learn how it's done?

It will help me solve a couple of problems I've not solved using a tally table yet.

~SQLBOT

So, you are attempting to do this:

0 -> 0

1 -> 1

2 -> 10

3 -> 11 ...

Correct?

• Correct, Lynn.

I'm looking to have an integer input column and varchar output like below

150 -> 10010110

255 -> 11111111

• If you're fixed on using a "tally table," I guess you could try something like this:

DECLARE @IntVal int;

SET @intVal = 54321;

SELECT SUM(POWER(CAST(10 AS bigint),v.number))

FROM master.dbo.spt_values v

WHERE v.type = 'P' AND v.number < 31 AND @IntVal & POWER(2,v.number) 0;

That's not going to work on large integers, though, because it will overflow with bigint; I guess you could chop the int up into pieces, and then reconstitute the result as a varchar.

Personally, I'd use a CTE for this if you're using SQL Server 2005 or later:

DECLARE @IntVal int;

SET @IntVal = 54321;

WITH CTE (IntVal, BinVal, FinalBin) AS

(SELECT @IntVal IntVal, @IntVal % 2 BinVal, CONVERT(varchar(MAX),@IntVal % 2) FinalBin

UNION ALL

SELECT IntVal / 2, (IntVal / 2) % 2, CONVERT(varchar(MAX),(IntVal / 2) % 2) + FinalBin FinalBin

FROM CTE

WHERE IntVal / 2 > 0)

SELECT FinalBin

FROM CTE

WHERE IntVal =

(SELECT MIN(IntVal)

FROM CTE);

--Jonathan

• Nice solution, Jonathan;