Physical Server vs. VM Pros & Cons

• I have read lot of articles and found out that it is not a good idea to use VM for Data Warehouse.

Currently, we are going through server upgrade and SQL upgrade (SQL Server 2012). Our server team recommended that we should move our environment on VM where he can give us our own Chasses to host the virtual servers and 5 virtual servers on it.

My current environment runs on physical servers.

I don't have much experience running data warehouse on virtual servers so I would appreciate if you guys can provide me any guidance. I dont mind if you send me link for any articles.

Thanks in advanced for your help.

• I am not an expert at all, but we have been running SQL Server (currently Enterprise 2012) for a year or three under VMWare and we are very very very satisfied. No problems ever. When we need extra memory, storage etc. it could even be added during production hours if necessary. From my personal experience I would recommend running under VMWare.

• Hi Raymond,

Thanks for your reply, our main concern is running ETL as we crunch lot of data. There is already a performance issue where we are fixing it. Plus, I am not sure how is your VM set up but how much competition for resources the VM will have - if they're multiple VM on same hardware.

What if the VM host goes down, all the VMs that it is hosting go down. With the physicial server you can (or hope to) manage it better.

Any thoughts..