Multiplre Instances

• Hi everyone,

May I know what are the limitations in the multiple instances of SQL SERVER?

Dinesh Asanka

My Blog: http://dineshasanka.spaces.live.com/

• Could you expand the question a little?

If you mean the maximum number then sql 2000 is limited to 16 instances.  Each is licensed individually.

• that is one aspect

are there any performance issues?

My Blog: http://dineshasanka.spaces.live.com/

• Yes, there can be many performance issues that will need to be looked at and resolved.  The top top three are Memory, CPU and Disk.  Each one has to be looked in conjuction with the type of applications you intend on running.  Are the heavy online, batch, combination?  Are all the applications the same?

I am a SQL and Oracle DBA.  We tend to need more memory with the SQL applications than Oracle applications.  The amount of meory will also relate to the disk activity and how well you code reuses the code in memory.  Most of our small to medium sized SQL applications need 512meg to 1.7gig memory.  So you could be limited to 1 -3 applications even if your server has 2-4 gig of ram.  Don't forget to leave enought memory to run the OS and any software components that might be on it.

Second is the disk.  Again the design of the applications with have a big impact.  The the database and applications are efficient in using memory, reuse of code and good indexing, the disk usage and utilization will be lessoned.  There can be a big impact on the design and layout of the hardware.  Will the controller be 1 or 2 channel, how many disk, raid type, ect.

3rd is CPU.  We typically don't share a server unless it has 2 - 4 cpu's.  With a 4 cpu box have typically have one "important" application and let it use 3-4 cpu's while the others are limited to 1 or 2 cpus.