Logins and Users

• I am learning how to manage a SQL Server 2005 server and its databases.

I am puzzled as to why I cannot create two users in a database from the same Login.

There is some basic concept that I don’t understand. I’m a newbie at being a dba. (Been an app programmer for many years.)

Here’s an example from the MS SQL Server 2005 Implementation and Maintenance Book, Training Kit for the MCTS exam: 70-431. Page 85 contains some code in the Practice session, paragraph 1. that I enter and it works fine.

Here’s the code in case you do not have the book.

Create login Peter with password = ‘Pa$$wOrd’

Go

Use adventureworks

Go

Create user Peter from login Peter.

As I said, the above works fine.

When I experiment and attempt to add another user as shown on line 1 below, I get the error message shown on line 2 below. I don’t understand this and I don’t understand why I cannot create the second user. To my way of thinking I ought to be able to create many users all of whom use login Peter.

1.Create user Victor from login Peter

2.Msg 15063, Level 16, State1, Line 1. The login already has an account under a different user name.

Anyone: Please give me an explanation and end this confusion. The more verbose, the better.

Thanks.

Victor Victor

• Each user must be tied to their own login. Think of it as 2 seperate levels of security passthrough. A user must have a login set up at the SQL Server instance level to get it into the SQL Server. They must then be set up in the database to access that database. So all DB users have a login tied to them. Make sense? If you want to create a second user, create a second login.

John Rowan

======================================================
    Forum Etiquette: How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help[/url] - by Jeff Moden

• Thank you John.