Linked Server "Data Pull" vs "Data Push"

• Hi,

I'm a self taught developer using SQL Server 2000 and 2005. At present my employer is doing a project which amoung other things moves data between various servers. In testing various algorithms I noticed that two functionally identical scripts perform drastically differently, and I was wondering if anyone knew why? (I have a guess at the end of the post)

Cheers,

Mat.

The Scenario:

There are two servers, each with one instance of SQL Server 2000. Each SQL Server has a linked server set up with access to the other. Each has one database with one table, they are identical;

CREATE TABLE test (id INT NOT NULL UNQIUE, val INT NOT NULL)

One table is empty and the other is full. I need to copy part of the data in to the empty table.

The Pull Option:

Run the following query on the server with the empty table.

INSERT INTO [local_svr].[db].[dbo].[test]

SELECT * FROM [remote_svr].[db].[dbo].[test] WHERE id BETWEEN 1000 AND 2000

The Push Option:

Run the following query on the server with the populated table.

INSERT INTO [remote_svr].[db].[dbo].[test]

SELECT * FROM [local_svr].[db].[dbo].[test] WHERE id BETWEEN 1000 AND 2000

The Difference:

In the case of a PULL, everything is extremely quick.

(Even if the tables actually have multiple constraints, etc.)

In the case of a PUSH, everything slows down by about 10 fold.

The Questions:

Is this a facet of some options on the SQL Servers and/or their Linked Servers?

Is it simply due to how linked servers work in terms of which server does what tasks, etc?

My Best Guess:

In a PUSH the local server may be supplying only one row of data at a time. This is checked by the remote server while being inserted. Then everything repeats.

In a PULL the remote server may execute the "SELECT x FROM y WHERE z" query, return the results as single batch and the local server deal with all the constraints, etc.

• Hi Mat,