.LDF file needed for MS Accedd DB itno SQL

• Friends,

I own MS Access DB and another group is trying to migrate to SQL Server and for this process they are asking me to provide .LDF file. I have never heard of this file in MS Access as I am very familiar in SQL Server (Transactional Log Data File). Can you please clarify here if I am not losing my mind? I appreciate it very much.

• My limited knowledge of access tells me that there is no ldf file...just an .mdb i am not an expert in access though

Gethyn Elliswww.gethynellis.com

• Don't believe there is an ldf. I know that newer versions of Access can install with some storage mechanism like SQL Server Express, but I'm not sure there's an LDF.

• There is no ldf on Access, to migrate an application from access to SQL, you use the Upsize Wizard, if this is not available then you just create the database in SQL and transfer the data from Access to SQL, it no different then spliting access to create an interface and a database.

let me know if I can help you.

"We never plan to Fail, We just fail to plan":)

• Thank you all for responding with answers. I did send an email to the *other group* that no such thing exist in MS Access. Have a great day!!

-Sanjeev

• It strikes me that the other group doing the migration is getting an SQL Server error and they know little to nothing about SQL Server. If you are expected to support this after the migration, I would get in there quick and make sure things are done properly.

Scott Duncan

MARCUS. Why dost thou laugh? It fits not with this hour.
    TITUS. Why, I have not another tear to shed;
    --Titus Andronicus, William Shakespeare