Jr. DBA

• Hi All!

I've recently attended two SQL Saturdays which fueled my interest in SQL which lead to a MCTS: SQL 2008 certification. I've been working in IT for almost three years in a windows shop eating up as many technologies as I could get my hands on before deciding SQL is where I want to be. Any advice on how I can move on to a Jr. DBA position? Most of my searches lead me to jobs that require at least some degree of real-world experience. Any help would be much appreciated!

• http://www.brentozar.com/archive/2009/04/how-to-get-a-junior-dba-job-part-1/

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Don't lie about your experience, with something as technical as SQL it will become apparent VERY quickly how much you know and it only irritates people when they find out they've been lied to. Highlight your real world experiences with SQL. Certification is good, but I've never hired on certifications (thats me), that proves you can study and take a test, not necessarily do the work. Thats not to take shots at those who are certified, but I ALWAYS look at experience as a major factor and certfications as much more minor.

Technical interviews are also a tricky beast. You can give a PERFECT technical answer but if it isn't what the interviewer was looking for, it might just be "wrong". The interviewers bias plays into it. I had an interview that I came out of knowing I gave very accurate answers, but I still wasn't sure till later that they were the "right" answers..

CEWII

• Thanks! Great link!!

• One other piece of advice that may sound strange. If you get a job offer and find that you'll be the sole DBA, run away. Learning by trial and error is fine in some jobs, but not when dealing with production databases.