I''m getting error when attaching database

• Hello all,

I'm new to SQL Server administration. Please help me.

I'm getting error when i try to attach database to different network drive. Error says ..

Server: Msg 5105, Level 16, State 2, Line 1

Device activation error. The physical file name ' E:\sqldata\test11_db.mdf' may be incorrect.

Can anyone help me , its urgent.

Initially i got the error when i was detaching database.

Thanks in advance.

Kind Regards,

Nar

• The following command should work assuming that the database was named test11_db previously and that the stated files are present (Based on logical drives on your SQL server).  

EXEC sp_attach_db @dbname = N'test11_db',

@filename1 = N'E:\sqldata\test11_db.mdf',

@filename2 = N'F:\sqldata\test11_db.ldf'

• If you are not logged in to the machine using the same account as SQL Server is running as, then there is most probably not an E: drive available for SQL Server to use.

• Hi,

Is your E: drive a network or local drive? If it is a network drive then with one of the following errors

5105 "Device Activation Error"
    -or-
    5110 "File 'file_name' is on a network device not supported for database files."

See the following link:

INF: Support for Network Database Files

Network databases are not supported by default and not recommended.
    "......This behavior is expected. Trace flag 1807 bypasses the check and allows you to configure SQL Server with network-based database files"

Yelena

Regards,Yelena Varsha

•   You do not need to be logged onto the server with the account that SQL server uses.  The logical drives during the SP_ATTACH_DB will be taken with respect to the account that SQL is running under.

Generally when attaching databases, I have used Query Analyzer using the SA account(Since we were in mixed mode authentication and we had a standard that all databases were owned by SA) this would make the database owner "SA".