IDENTITY Property not transferred to subscribers

• I'm a replication newb, so please bare with me. I have a SQL 2000 Server that has two databases on it that I need to replicate to another SQL 2000 Server. I need to use transactional replication to make sure the data on the target server is always up-to-date. It only needs to be a one-way (read-only) push replication. In other words the target server (subscriber) will never need to modify the data, or send any updates back to the source (publisher). It will only use the data/database for reporting purposes.

I think I have everything just about finished, but when i step through the wizard to create the publication, I get almost done and get the warning about the IDENTITY columns ("IDENTITY Property not transferred to Subscribers"). I would like to have the identity columns in the target db so that the queries I've written already on the source server will still work on the target server. How do I fix this? It says:

-------------------------------------

Because this publication does not allow updatable subscriptions, when IDENTITY columns are transferred to the Subscriber, the IDENTITY property will not be transferred. (For example, a column defined as INT IDENTITY at the Publisher will be defined as INT at the Subscriber.)

If you want the IDENTITY property transferred to the subscription table, you must do the following:

» Create the subscription table manually using the IDENTITY property and the NOT FOR REPLICATION option. You can have SQL Server execute a custom script to perform this action before the snapshot is applied. To specify a custom script, create the publication, create the script, and enter the script name on the Snapshot tab of the publication properties.

» Set the name conflicts article property so that SQL Server does not drop an existing table when applying the snapshot at the Subscriber. This property is on the Snapshot tab of article properties.

-------------------------------------