I want to reclaim the space, but I dont want using Shrink Database

• Hi,

I'm a beginner of SQL Server DBA

I want to reclaim the space, but I dont want using Shrink Database.

Why I dont want to using Shrink Database?

Because of Gail Shaw article, http://sqlinthewild.co.za/index.php/2007/09/08/shrinking-databases/ 🙂

My disk is almost full. So, what is the other way to reclaim the space?

Really need help

• don't use shrink database, use shrinkfile through TSQL. do you want to shrink the data file or the log file?

WARNING, after shrinking the file is likely to grow again unless procedures are put in place to prevent it

shrinking is the only way to get space back from a database and return it to OS.

After the shrink you will just have to reorganize your indexes. Are you already running index reorganizes on a regular basis? If not this process would reduce space used within the database and slow down future growth.

you could try dbcc shrinkfile(filename,truncateonly) on the data file, this might get you space back from the end of the file without moving data about

Whats the growth factor on the files, it might be grabbing more space than it needs.

run sp_spaceused in the databases, unless reserved space is less than the actual file size the shrink wont get you much.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

• Sir,

I want to shrink log file. Did you have the command?

• it can be done via SSMS (right click database, all tasks, shrink file) but the command is dbcc shrinkfile(logfile logical name, size in MB)

However, what recovery mode is the database in, if full or bulk logged are you taking log backups and what does command

select log_reuse_wait_desc from master.sys.databases where name = 'yourdb'

return

• Oh. Got it sir.

Let's say, I want to shrink 10 database. Did you have any script to make it this possible?

• I am afraid I don't, I'm sure there will be one in the scripts section of this site.