How to commit transaction log during a large ETL process

• Hello SSC!

First, I would like to thank everyone who has responded to my posts. This website has helped me tremendously over the years!

My question...

I have a large ETL process that I inherited. I have been tasked with optimizing this process which uses SSIS and plenty of stored procedures. The source tables are very large, over 500 million rows.

Is there a way to commit the transaction log after a proc executes, so the log doesn't fill up and kill the job? I know the keyword "COMMIT" supposedly helps, but I have had instances where it doesn't do what's expected or I did not use it correctly. I am a developer who has dabbled in the Admin arts, but certainly I am no expert. So, I ask the SSC experts. Looking forward to your responses.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

Dave

The are no problems, only solutions. --John Lennon

• Is there a way to commit the transaction log after a proc executes, so the log doesn't fill up and kill the job:

Smaller transactions: as long the transaction is running the log of it can't be truncated as it needed for rollback

Regular log backups: archive non-active portions of logfile

Different logmodels: full (point in time), bulk-logged (as for etl-loading processes), simple (no point in time)

https://www.mssqltips.com/sqlservertutorial/5/sql-server-bulk-logged-recovery-model

• Thank you Jo,

This is very helpful. The recovery Model is set to Simple, so I don't think that is the issue. I will take executing in batches into consideration, the only issue is that I have a lot of procs to consider.

I am really looking for a way to commit everything in the transaction log after a proc completes successfully. Not sure if that is possible or recommended.

• In the OLEDB Destination - in SSIS - you control the batch and commit sizes.  If you leave those as default then all of the rows processed through the pipeline will be committed in a single transaction.