Help! Transaction log full, don''t have DBCC permissions

• I'm a web developer using a small SQL Server 2005 database on a shared server with my web host. I have SSMS but don't have permissions to run DBCC. I ran SSIS to import several 1000's of records over multiple tables, and filled my transaction log. The last table didn't copy. I tried backing up the database (Full backup) because I read somewhere that could shrink the log. I've tried copy records with a query to limit it to 1000 at a time, but I'm still getting transaction log full errors.

In SSMS if I click Shrink Database it says Currently allocated space is 30.63 MByte and available free space is 1.16MByte. That sounds pretty full to me; seems I want to grow it not shrink it.

The DB is set with AUTO SHRINK on.

This is a real pain in the butt. I'm running the same database in a SQL Server 2000 instance on my laptop, and I've never had any log full errors.

Any suggestions how to fix this?

• Scott

A full database backup won't affect the size of your log.  Truncate your log like this:

BACKUP LOG MyDB WITH TRUNCATE_ONLY -- if you don't need to be able to restore

BACKUP LOG MyDB TO DISK = 'X:\MyFolder\MyFile.bak' -- if you want to be able to restore to a point in time after your last full backup

(The syntax above is from SQL Server 2000 - if it has changed for SQL Server 2005 then please look it up in Books Online.)

I don't recommend using auto shrink.  It consumes system resources and causes fragmentation.  Set your log to a realistic size and leave it.  But don't forget to back up (or truncate) your log regularly.

John

• I tried the WITH TRUNCATE_ONLY option. It is the same syntax for SQL2005, and it executed successfully, but I am still getting transaction log full error when trying to copy just 1000 records.