Granting rights

• Hi,

Is there a better way of tranferring all the rights from UserA to UserB.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I am just an another naive wannabe DBA trying to learn SQL Server

• Yeah, set up a role with all appropriate permissions and then add the users to that. Then you don't have to transfer rights from one user to the next. That's tons of unnecessary work.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• Thanks.

But I was thinking of a scenario where there are 10 users and all these 10 users have different set of permissions where in by no 2 users have the same set of rights.So having 10 roles wont be much of a good idea.

I did get a script from here http://www.pawlowski.cz/2011/03/cloning-user-rights-database but just was thinking if there is any other better way.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

• Why would you set up your security that way? Maybe I'm just lazy but 3-5 roles is generally all that's needed and you just move the users in & out of them as needed without having to deal with users. In fact, we usually also set up AD groups and just had the users added to the groups by the security people so we had to do even less work.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• Sachin Nandanwar (8/12/2011)

Thanks.

But I was thinking of a scenario where there are 10 users and all these 10 users have different set of permissions where in by no 2 users have the same set of rights.So having 10 roles wont be much of a good idea.