Duplicating SQL Server 7 database

• I currently have a SQL server database that I want to copy (including data) and use with a completely separate web application under IIS. I duplicated the mdf and ldf files and renamed them. I then pointed the new app to the new database name. Unfortunately, if I update something on the new app, the original database also gets changed. It still seems to update only one set of data. I'm a newbie and obviously missing something basic. Is there a suggested way to do this so the databases are completely separate from each other. I don't have Enterprise Manager.

• You can do this by copying the files like you did and then attaching them back to the server under a different name using the sp_attach_db stored procedure.

It would be a good idea to set the source database offline before you start copying to avoid database consistency issues.

Here is an example taken from Books Online:

EXEC sp_attach_db @dbname = N'pubs',

@filename1 = N'c:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\Data\pubs.mdf',

@filename2 = N'c:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\Data\pubs_log.ldf'

JM

• Did try what you suggested in osql. I received a syntax error on the 2nd line. It seems to have a problem with @filename1.

• Hmmm...I tested it in Query Analyser and it works. Did you type it all on one line in osql?

What version of SQL Server are you using?

Jean

• I was using the editor. I did now type it all on one line and it went by so fast, I couldn't tell if it worked. Is there a log file or way to test it. I'm using MS SQL 7.

Thanks

• Got half of it working! I was able to detach both databases and reattach one of them, however when I go to attach the other database, it says it does not exist. The files, however are there. Any ideas why it does not recognize the 2nd one?

• Can you post the error message you are getting?

JM

• May be missing something.

You are attaching as completely new database which should not exist right?