Differential backup fail

• Hi

I am new to SQL Server. I am busy studying for the 70-450 exam and are working in a complete different field. My goal is to find work as a junior DBA.

I have setup SQL Server 2008 R2 on my laptop with the Adventureworks databases to practice certain things constantly. I had it installed on a virtual machine, but that kills my resources and makes it hard to jump between the host and the vm. Therefore I installed SQL on windows 7.

I scheduled 3 jobs for backup in full recovery

1. Full backup to occur once a week, Mondays @ 9:00am. The job ran on Monday and succeeded

2. Differential backup to occur every day @ 11:00am.

3. Transaction log backup to occur every 60mins starting at 8:00am running until 5:00pm.

The differential backup gives a error every day when it runs:

Cannot open backup device 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10_50.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Backup\AdventureWorks2008R2.bak'

If I run the job manually it succeeds. I am just guessing, but could this be because the backup device is in use by the transaction log backup? If I look at the log of the Transaction Log backup job, it also failed on Monday @ 9:00am, when the full backup was running.

If this is the case, I have a question or two:

1. If the Full backup succeeded but the T-Log failed, does it mean the Full backup gets priority?

2. If question one = yes, then why do Transaction log win over differential backup?

3. If the statement I made is correct that the backup device is in use, how do I get passed this problem without changing the schedule?

Thanks,

Pierre

• I strongly, strongly recommend that you do not back everything up to the same backup file - put in a timestamp as part of your backup name and have a new file for each backup. I'd advise checking out Ola Hallengren's excellent scripts rather than try to re-invent the wheel:

http://ola.hallengren.com/