Database Goes Missing

• I will start by saying I am a production SQL Server DBA and have very little experience with Analysis Services.

Our development team is putting together a data warehouse and i am in charge of the SSAS instance. From time to time, one of our SSAS databases disappears. I am trying to track down the who/when/how with regard to this happening.

So, I created a new SSAS databases, and ran a profiler trace of me deleting it by right clicking on the DB and choosing delete. I then filtered the trace on TextData for some of that text. Today, the given database was gone again, and my trace did not pick it up. Obviously I am missing something.

I could trace all activity against the given DB, but that is going to be a huge trace.

Again, not overly familiar with SSAS/XML/MDX.... can someone help me with a basic trace definition that would catch this?

Thanks!

• Was the database detached instead of deleted? What did you search on? Drop, Detach, and Rename are pretty much the only ways I know of to get rid of a database.

• By chance does someone by the name of Krasavita work with you? 🙂

• tshelly (10/5/2010)

By chance does someone by the name of Krasavita work with you? 🙂

Post of the week right here 🙂

• Fair question.

I have a column filter on TextData for %delete%

When I traced myself deleting the SSAS database, I got

<Delete xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/analysisservices/2003/engine">

<Object>

<DatabaseID>ss</DatabaseID>

</Object>

</Delete>

<PropertyList xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xml-analysis">

<Timeout>0</Timeout>

<SspropInitAppName>Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio</SspropInitAppName>

<LocaleIdentifier>1033</LocaleIdentifier>

<ClientProcessID>2340</ClientProcessID>

</PropertyList>

as an EventSubClass "2- Delete".

Any help would be appreciated.