CS Degree or No?

• OK, I know this is a fairly basic question but I need to boost my spirits right now...

How many of you are doing high-level architectural / design work (senior-level position) yet don't have a CS degree?

• I was one of the Senior Database Guys for a major financial services company and now I'm the Senior Architect for a mid-sized bank.  My degree is in experimental psychology, so, based on educational background, I'm only qualified to shock rats.

I fell into programming (COBOL on punch cards, yes, I'm that old) and later got into DBMSs and the rest was accomplished with insatiable curiosity and the willingness to learn from everyone I met.  The lessons I learned in psychology classes helped instill a healthy respect for the scientific method of problem solving and working with rats has helped me deal with senior management in some of the companies in my working past, but everything I needed to know, I learned by keeping my ears open, my mouth shut, and trying out everything I could get my hands on.

It's been my experience that the good companies I've worked for, including the Bank, judged candidates on their demonstrated accomplishments rather than the length of the initials after their names on their current business cards.

And then again, I might be wrong ...
    David Webb

• I've pretty much notched up 10 years of IT experience, and I don't have a CS degree (though I do have a Graduate Diploma in CS). My background is in Physics (MSc) and I hold a teaching diploma as well as two microsoft certifications.

Having said all this, I agree with David that experience in a company that offers training and career progression is the most important, this way you can gain a balanced knowledge within your particular area, as well as keeping up with new(er) technologies.

I do however find the Graduate Diploma and the certifications to be of some benefit, and in certain cases, may have just put me ahead of the other applicants for a new job!