Creating a unique index based on multiple keys? SQL2k5

• I am pretty new to SQL Server, so please forgive me if i don't know the lingo. Here's what I have been asked to do. Say we have the following table:

a b c

=====

1 a 1

1 b 1

1 b 2

1 a 2

2 a 1

2 a 2

As you can see, none of the columns are unique, but the whole row of the 3 columns are unique. Is it possible to create an index that determines duplicate index based on the sum of three columns? If so, how?

Thanks

• Maybe you want a composite primary key:

ALTER TABLE YourTable

ADD CONSTRAINT PK_YourTable PRIMARY KEY (a, b, c)

This will stop any duplicates.

• You can also use a unique constraint, that way you can put your primary key on 1 column (datatype integer) for better performance when joining tables on that key.

This next section comes right out of the Books Online (ms-help://MS.SQLCC.v9/MS.SQLSVR.v9.en/udb9/html/e3e38fbc-1a6f-42c7-93a2-a93f24490d58.htm) and gives a good clue as to what the unique constraint is about:

You can use UNIQUE constraints to make sure that no duplicate values are entered in specific columns that do not participate in a primary key. Although both a UNIQUE constraint and a PRIMARY KEY constraint enforce uniqueness, use a UNIQUE constraint instead of a PRIMARY KEY constraint when you want to enforce the uniqueness of a column, or combination of columns, that is not the primary key. 

Multiple UNIQUE constraints can be defined on a table, whereas only one PRIMARY KEY constraint can be defined on a table.

Also, unlike PRIMARY KEY constraints, UNIQUE constraints allow for the value NULL. However, as with any value participating in a UNIQUE constraint, only one null value is allowed per column. 

A UNIQUE constraint can be referenced by a FOREIGN KEY constraint.

The syntax is as follows:
    alter table T_MYTABLE
    add constraint UC_MYCONSTRAINT unique nonclustered ( F_COLUMN_A, F_COLUMN_B, F_COLUMN_C )

Hope this helps

You can find me on LinkedIn.