Convert VB Simple Moving Average Function to T-SQL

• Hi

I'm in the process of migrating a MS-Access based trading system to SQL Server 2008. I've never worked with SQL server before, nor T-SQL. I have the following VB function to calculate a simple moving average. It's flexible in the sense that it works on a number of different commodities, and for any window.

Public Function SMA_EOD(Commodity, TrdDay, period As Integer)

Dim rst As DAO.Recordset

Dim sql As String

Dim ma As Double

Dim n As Integer

sql = "SELECT [COMM_SYMB], [TRD_DAY], [CLOSE] FROM fct_EOD" & _

" WHERE [fct_EOD]![COMM_SYMB] ='" & Commodity & "'" & _

" AND [fct_EOD]![TRD_DAY] <= #" & TrdDay & "#" & _

" ORDER BY [fct_EOD]![TRD_DAY];"

Set rst = CurrentDb.OpenRecordset(sql)

rst.MoveLast

For n = 0 To period - 1

If rst.BOF Then

SMA_EOD = 0

Exit Function

Else

ma = ma + rst.Fields("CLOSE")

End If

rst.MovePrevious

Next n

rst.Close

SMA_EOD = ma / period

End Function

I need help with the general approach, and then on how to decide which of: a stored procedure, function, or cursor-based solution best fits my situation.

Thanks in advance,

Wayne

• waykna (12/7/2008)

Hi

I'm in the process of migrating a MS-Access based trading system to SQL Server 2008. I've never worked with SQL server before, nor T-SQL. I have the following VB function to calculate a simple moving average. It's flexible in the sense that it works on a number of different commodities, and for any window.

Public Function SMA_EOD(Commodity, TrdDay, period As Integer)

Dim rst As DAO.Recordset

Dim sql As String

Dim ma As Double

Dim n As Integer

sql = "SELECT [COMM_SYMB], [TRD_DAY], [CLOSE] FROM fct_EOD" & _

" WHERE [fct_EOD]![COMM_SYMB] ='" & Commodity & "'" & _

" AND [fct_EOD]![TRD_DAY] <= #" & TrdDay & "#" & _

" ORDER BY [fct_EOD]![TRD_DAY];"

Set rst = CurrentDb.OpenRecordset(sql)

rst.MoveLast

For n = 0 To period - 1

If rst.BOF Then

SMA_EOD = 0

Exit Function

Else

ma = ma + rst.Fields("CLOSE")

End If