CHECKPOINT Process Running on tempdb for 6 Days

• When I run sp_who2 active I can see that there is an open process on tempdb for a CHECKPOINT. The CHECKPOINT started the night I did a Windows update and rebooted the server. The CPUTime is currently 297141 and the DiskIO is 31654. I am new to the admin side of SQL, but I don't think this is normal. How can safely kill the process and does anyone have any insight as to how this happens?

This is a fully updated version of SQL 2008 (Standard 64-bit Edition) on a Windows virtual box.

Thanks for the help!

Update - I can see that it is normal for a CHECKPOINT to be active for the master database, though it is in status SUSPENDED on my other servers, but on the server I am having the most performance issues with has the CHECKPOINT in the status of BACKGROUND in the tempdb database.

Any help would be greatly appreciated...even just saying it is nothing to worry about would be awesome.

• You should really watch the Checkpoint Pages / Sec performance monitor counter and see if it drops off. If it is running all the time or for really long periods of time then your IO throughput to the disk is not sufficient to support the activity that you have. IF you were to shut down the instance right now you would have a really long recovery time as well.

Let me know what you see with the performance monitor counter.

David

@SQLTentmaker

“He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose” - Jim Elliot

• What is the best method to monitor that? Is there a way to monitor that by process or is it something that I just have to watch on perfmon for the whole server?

Thanks for the help,

Dane

-- I am slowing trying to build up my admin toolbox.