Auto_tune

• I know there are a few guitarists out there after one of my polls about hobbies. So I'm sure there will be a few of you interested in this cool, auto-tuning technology for guitars.

I'm a guitarist, though that might be a bit of a stretch. I'm a hack, playing somewhat rarely and mostly for fun. I can play a few through that my wife will sing, but it's mostly a diversion. And my ears stink. The left one is nicely blown out most of the way and I have a relatively small range on the right, so tuning is a pain, mostly by feel of the vibrations rather than the tone.

And I hate retuning. It's a pain and I tend to avoid songs that require detuning because it's annoying. And it's annoying for the guys that are good and interrupts their playing. That's why you see many guitarists on stage having 2, 3, or 5 guitars that they switch between constantly.

Someone finally did something about it. A guy built a computerized system for retuning a guitar in about 5 seconds. That is very cool, especially for the pros. At $3400, I'm not sure I'll be looking to set that up anytime soon, but since they shop is near me in Fort Collins, I may ask to swing by someday and take a look at how they do it.

It's cool to see someone using technology in music to make the analog systems better. I think the analog music sounds better, even to my limited ears, and I prefer this to someone inventing some other "digital" guitar with no strings, doesn't change tunings, etc.

Those imperfect instruments, with mistakes made in the playing, bring out a warmth and human-ality to music that I don't think computers can create.

Steve Jones

PS - Apologies for no poll this week, but I've been a touch too distracted to come up with one. Look for a new one next week.