applying Hotfixes to Production server

• Greetings,

i am a junior SQL Server DBA.

1. Please tell me how to apply SP2 / hotfixes on Culstering environment of Active - Active and Active - Passive.

2. Please tell the key points to win the interview in Database Administration.

3. Please telll me the real time scenario of SQL server DBA when you are working in.

:-):-):-)

• Why you are talking about SP2? SP3 is the latest patch now.

• Here is the answer for your question #1

1. Connect remotely to the first node of your cluster through the Terminal Services by a physical box name

2. Copy an installation package to the local drive

3. Install a SP3

4. Reboot a box

5. Verify that a box is back

6. Repeat all steps 1-5 for the second node

6. Enjoy 🙂

• hi , thanks for the quick responce.

But if my production server are Active - Passive or Active - Active

which stretegy should be followd. Installing sp2 or sp3 is ok.

But if those are production server how can i apply the sp3 .

the meaning of asking is i dont want to stop the production.

and if possible please let me know how can i manually switch applications from active to passive.

• In Active/Active cluster you need to do all mentioned steps.

In Active/Passive some people recommend install SP on the Active node only. I disagree, because any other services, like SSIS, SSAS and SSRS should be installed on every node separately. Cluster also can be converted from Active/Passive to Active/Active any moment. So, I don't see any reason why we suppose to do just a half work in case Active/Passive cluster.

• You will not interrupt production and you don't need to switch applications manually to the Passive node. This is main point of cluster - your cluster still have the same virtual name and IP for any applications regardless of which node takes ownership of cluster.