Almost real time data for reporting database.

• Hi,

I have this bizarre situation where there are about 350 DB's having same structure and design and each DB having 20000 or so objects.The size of each DB range anywhere from 30 GB to 150 GB.

Now there are some issues as the reports are being fetched from these OLTP databases and the time the report execution is taking is unacceptable.The client wants to segregate each OLTP database to a separate reporting database which should be in read & write mode and that the reports should be executed on those reporting databases.The data on the reporting database should be almost real time with the max acceptable latency being 5 mins.

So are there better ways to achieve this ? Thought of snapshot,log shipping and replication.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I am just an another naive wannabe DBA trying to learn SQL Server

• with LogShipping, you cant write to database.

So the report is required from all database or some specific database? How big are the reporting database?

----------
    Ashish

• Thanks for the reply Ashish.

The client needs a separate reporting database for each OLTP DB.So if he has 350 DB's he wants 350 reporting databases each containing 20000 tables(not sure why does his DB contains so many objects and he does not want to review or redesign of the structure).

The most irritating part is that the client gives a new separate DB to each customer that he gets for his product.So the number of DB's might increase as his customer base increases.

I also thought that Log shipping might be the best solution but just was a bit hasty on the part that the latency period beyond 5 mins is unacceptable for the client.Any drawbacks of this approach and if we do go ahead with this implementation so what kind of infrastructure will we need and the precautions that will have to be taken.