ABOUT TRIGGERS!!!

• Hi everyone... I'm currently studying triggers and... well I have encountered some kind of problem I think...

Here is my very simple TRIGGER..

------------------------------------------------------------------

CREATE TRIGGER TRG_STOCKS ON [dbo].[T_STOCKS]

FOR INSERT, UPDATE

AS

BEGIN

DECLARE @ITEM_NO NUMERIC

DECLARE @DESC NVARCHAR(100)

SELECT @ITEM_NO = ITEM_NO FROM INSERTED

PRINT CAST(@ITEM_NO AS NVARCHAR)

IF UPDATE(ITEM_NO)

SET @DESC =  'NEW RECORD ' + CAST(@ITEM_NO AS NVARCHAR)

ELSE

SET @DESC =  'UPDATED RECORD '  + CAST(@ITEM_NO AS NVARCHAR)

UPDATE T_STOCKS SET DESCRIPTION = @DESC WHERE ITEM_NO = @ITEM_NO

END

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Now I have an insert statement like the one below...

----------------------------------------------------------------------insert into t_stocks

select

name,

description,

count

from

t_stocks

select * from t_stocks

----------------------------------------------------------------------

so there fore if I have 2 or more records already in t_stocks.. that insert statement would be like inserting 2 or more records as a batch...

The problem is that the trigger I created would only fire for the last record inserted... not for each record..

Can anyone explain to me why this is so? I'm quite new so I'm still having trouble figuring things out.

• The trigger fires once for the entire statement. Using the INSERTED and DELETED virtual tables you can get access to all the rows that where inserted/deleted or updated (using both tables).

• Dear All,

I was searching forum for any questions regarding triggers as I am new in using them. I coud not really understand how to use virtual table. Do you mean to say we need trigger to loop on inserted table and if so what is the syntax for this.

• Taken from BOL