2000 or 2005

• I've been a SQL DBA for a while now but have never taken the time to take any of the exams. I'd like to pair the experience I have with the certifications for professional reasons. I'm wondering if I should skip the 2000 tests and just move on to the 2005 exams. Any and all opinions are appreciated.

Mark

• Hi,

My suggestion would be go for 2005.

Thanks,

Ravi

MCP

• IMHO -

If the reason for certification is for you and your possible future endeavors, I would certify in 2005. If your current company is using 2000 and will not move to 2005 in the forseeable future, I'd certify as 2000.

In 2000, I certified in SQL 7.0 even though the 2000 tests were coming out. I wish I had dug in and learned 2000 then and tested on it.

Michelle

• What are you using now?  If you've never taken any certification exams, then your first one should be on material with which you are most comfortable.

The 2005 certification exams cover most of what you need to know for 2000, plus a whole lot more.  If you're not getting quality exposure to 2005, but lots of time with 2000, go get 70-228 or 70-229 out of the way first, and decide what to do from there.  The windows server exams are not part of the 2005 DBA track like 2000.  Instead, the SQL Server admin exams include configuring domains, networks, firewalls (ISA Server), user accounts, and all that crap as part of the test.  With the 2000 exams, you can target some specific skills and get it over with.

However, if you're comfortable with 2005, then go bag 70-431 and don't look back.

MS is running a promotion now, called the 'free second shot'.  If you sign up befiore you book your exam, then take the exam by June 30th, you can retake it for free in July if you don't pass.  It's great for folks taking their first exam because you're not putting up your cash to just get a feel for what they're like.

-Eddie

Eddie Wuerch
    MCM: SQL

• Thats useful and reassuring info Eddie